• The WTA tournament Berlin was a clay court tennis event of the WTA Tour, which was held from 1979 to 2008 as the International German Championships in Berlin.
  • Since 1979, the women’s tournament took place in Berlin. In the early 1980s, Bettina Bunge and Claudia Kohde-Kilsch were two German winners. From 1986, Steffi Graf, another German Tennis star, dominated the tournament. Within eleven years, she won the tournament nine times and is a record champion of the event.
  • The event took place for the last time in 2008.
  • In 2020, tennis fans can look forward to the biggest women’s tournament in Germany.